Some people think that if a police force carries guns, this will encourage a higher level of violence in society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It cannot be denied that police who carry guns have conducted various forms of violence in recent years, around the world in both developing and developed worlds. Such phenomenon has encouraged the cause-and-effect assumption that if the police force is equipped with firearms, there will be a higher level of violence in the society. As far as effectiveness, human psychology, and police management are concerned, I strongly disagree with such opinion. First and foremost, carrying guns is the most effective way to prevent violence, especially the extreme ones that could cause severe damage to the society. For instance, violent murderers or robbers who carry weapons, such as machete or even guns, would most likely only fear and be deterred by those who are able to threaten the criminal’s lives – namely police force armed with guns; for more dire cases such as terrorism that is becoming increasingly frequent in the modern world, police force might even need weapons that are more powerful than guns. After all, police use their guns to protect the society from crimes that are caused by a variety of complex reasons – greed, poverty, extremism in religion…etc. Second, the fact that human psychology, even those of the most reckless ones, naturally fears the loss of their life indicates that guns can been used as a symbol of order instead of a tool of violence. Take the case of the patrolling officers around airports, train stations, and other locations which tend to have a large crowd: while the police officers possess the ability to kill, their weapons are more of a symbol communicating the message “don’t even think about violence or your life is at risk.” Under such circumstances, the guns of the police force actually promotes a higher level of stability instead of encouraging violence. A voice arises that numerous violence cases have been reported around the world in recent years, even including gun shotting of innocent people form their back by the police. Ironically, a hammer can also be used on a nail or a skull, and guns are merely tools instead of the causes in these cases - it is the police that conducted violence. Such problems are to be resolved through the appropriate management of the police force: adequate training, procedures and reporting procedures for the use of guns, and the monitoring of the police force with the assistance of modern technology. In conclusion, in terms of effectiveness, human psychology, and police management, carrying guns by the police will not encourage violence in the society. While there are one thousand Hamlets in one thousand people’s eyes, I’m confident that my opponents will compromise after being shown to my article.