In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

In recent years, rural people moving to the city, decreasing population in the countryside has occurred in every country of the world. This has negative effect, increased pressure on the environment and health issues. I will explain the reason in this essay below. Firstly, the influx of the rural population moving into the city has caused environmental problems such as overused natural resources and air pollution. The more amounts of people, the more numbers of vehicles on the road which emit fumes and pollutants into the world, creating the global warming effect, contributing to carbon dioxide emissions and increasing the temperature of the earth. For example, America which is a country that has a higher rate of migration people, consuming natural resources, using in transportation, shows dramatic production of Carbon dioxide in the atmosphere. Therefore, it is clear that the increasing migration of population from the countryside to urban area, have a negative effect on the environment. Secondly, The growth of the city, lead to severe traffic congestion, air quality is worse than outside the city, and when inhaling toxic substances can cause illness. This affects the respiratory system in the long term. For instance, people who live in the Thailand, Chaing Mai, which the city that have poor quality of air, tend to have a high rate of lung cancer regardless of low air quality. Thus, this becomes apparent that relocating to urbanisation initiates health problems. To summarise, the widespread trend of moving to live in urbanisation is evident in many countries. I firmly believe that it is a drawback development in terms of environmental and health issues.