Tourism has emerged as one of the biggest industries of this decade, but its disadvantages cannot be overlooked. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

There are numerous countries nowadays such as Thailand, Vietnam, and Maldives where tourism has become a part of the national economy and main revenue, directly contributing to the increase in GDP. At some points, the contentions of the drawbacks caused by tourists have arisen. From my perspective, I firmly believe that these downsides are detrimental to the country and I will provide my further explanations in the essay below. To begin with, it is undeniable that tourism creates employment and generates a huge income especially for the nations that heavily rely on this industry. To illustrate more, hotels, restaurants, and eminent destinations require staff to operate and run a business. Therefore, it also implies that the more visitors coming to travel, the lower unemployment rate of the country, resulting in a domestic economic growth as the populations have higher purchasing power. Nevertheless, the influx of travelers aggravates pollution and environmental degradation. According to the World Count website, tourism contributes to more air pollution, with transportation accounting for almost 90% of carbon emissions since traveling from one place to another place requires vehicles. Moreover, for example, travelers may intrude into prohibited areas where local authorities aim to protect or unintentionally catch reserved animals of the nation. These circumstances can devastate the ecosystem and cause discontent in the community. To conclude, I concede that though tourism can be considered an impetus for economic invigoration, the negative impacts brought by tourists are far more jeopardized and the domestic government should take legal measures to cope with these challenges.