There is a lot of pressure on young people today to succeed academically. As a result, some people believe that non-academic subjects, such as physical education and cookery, should be removed from the school syllabus so that children can concentrate on academic work. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is a general belief that subjects like physical education and cookery should be removed from the curriculum to promote more focus on academic subjects because of the growing pressure to succeed in recent times. I Completely disagree with this statement because there are several benefits of studying other non acedemic subjects. This will be discussed in the subsequent paragraphs. Firstly, children are given the opportunity to explore a wide range of career options. Not every child is academically inclined and has the ability to perform excellently in scientific subjects. There are others who have great athletic prowess and would do better in the sports society. Presenting them this opportunity at a young age will give them the option to discover their strengths and focus on making themselves better in this regard. For instance, a popular footballer mentioned that he discovered he was talented in playing football at a young age because of the time he spent exploring different sports in middle school. Furthermore, there has been a rise in the number of obese children in society. A reason for this could be because they spend the majority of their time on their phones resulting in a reduced time playing outdoors. Therefore, when physical education is encouraged, they would see the importance of keeping physically fit and the extra sports activities would encourage them to stay more active. Likewise, teaching them culinary skills can also help in the reduction of Obese children. This is because the school will have an opportunity to teach them healthy recipes and encourage them to practice making and eating them in their respective homes. in turn, reducing the amount of unhealthy alternatives that they may likely eat. To conclude, the benefits include giving the young ones the chance to explore several career paths and assisting in the management of obesity through exercise and healthy eating.