Convenience foods will become increasingly prevalent and eventually replace traditional food and traditional ways of food preparation. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The popularity of convenience foods has been increasing day by day eventually taking the place of conventional food and the conventional preparation of homemade food. I personally agree with this opinion. The dependency on convenience, and unhealthy foods among people leads to excessive access to these foods. Firstly, although convenience foods are low in nutrients they are ready to consume. Therefore, grocery stores are fully packed with convenience foods. Secondly, companies are advertising these foods to attract people so, people are getting more inclined to these kinds of foods leaving behind healthy, homemade foods. Furthermore, the lives of people in recent times are busy and hectic and people are more interested in earning money for their survival ignoring their wellbeing. For example, most of the young generation in the USA is fully dependent on convenience foods because they are no more interested in time-consuming homemade cooking. So they mostly depend on the sorts of foods which are easily available and that leads to the prevalence of convenience foods. It is undeniable that, the habit of cooking at home is disappearing among people especially who are working outside. Therefore, the heritage of traditional methods of cooking and the taste of traditional food is forgotten by people. For example, a significant proportion of people of my home country do not even know the taste of traditional dishes and are ignorant of the traditional way of cooking although we have a rich heritage of traditional way of cooking. It happens only because of the excessive availability and popularity of convenience foods. To conclude, conventional foods and cooking methods are disappearing in the era of convenience foods which should not be tolerated anymore. Instead of convenience foods, we should promote the health benefits of conventional foods.