‘Tourism is always a force for good which enables people of different countries to understand each other.’ To what extent do you agree with this idea?

The role of globetrotting in the world today is widely debated, with some people claiming that it gives a chance for international understanding. However, I personally do not accept this opinion, and I will explain why in the following essay. On the one hand, overseas travel nowadays usually follows a strict schedule. Tourism companies set up all famous attractions that the guests will visit, even with the meal during the trip, they book a restaurant before and visitors will hardly have a break time to talk to local people. For instance, Japanese tourists always have a fixed table time before their holiday event while there are too many well-known places in this country, and even souvenirs have been prepared for each person. This is mainly because having a firm tour is more money-saving than going by themselves. Consequently, it is impossible to figure out the native with the short day. On the other hand, according to some individuals, there are opportunities for sightseers to get acquainted with dwellers. This is because people cannot have a trip without chatting with restaurant staff or shopkeepers in the place. Nevertheless, I believe that this explanation cannot outweigh the idea that I mentioned above, while in this day and age, communication platforms are extremely developed. For example, Facebook, Instagram, and Snapchat. As a result, voyagers would not splurge their money on traveling just to contact different citizens, they can just use their mobile phone to do so. In conclusion, even though voyagers may open windows for understanding people whose backgrounds are different from yours, I disagree with this idea because, during a short-term vacation, it is not easy to have a deeper knowledge about residents as well as the development of social media enables inhabitants to be close each other without going abroad.