Some countries are struggling with increases in crime rates. Some believed that having more police on the streets is the best way to reduce and combat crime. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, numerous nations have witnessed a surge in crime rates, which has sparked debates on effective strategies for crime reduction. I disagree that enforcing more police officers on the ground can only reduce crime, as this would not address the root cause and might end up losing credibility. To begin with, no one is a criminal by birth; however, they are forced to commit an offense because of the circumstances. A recent study portrays the biggest cause as unemployment, and joblessness often leads to the initiation of petty crimes and such activities as a means of survival. Additionally, these petty crimes lead to bigger offenses. However, the link between crime and unemployment is the root cause, which can be addressed by implementing policies that promote job creation and economic stability. For example, Germany has provided comprehensive employment opportunities that offer immediate financial relief to the poor and unemployed and additionally provide skill training. Moreover, another important root cause is drugs, and people addicted to drugs are committing crimes to fulfill their daily consumption. Instead of only law enforcement, the administration should initiate the process of rehabitation and restrict the drug sources. Additionally, victims should be provided with educational campaigns and a robust support system. For instance, Punjab police recently organized various rehabitation camps and training to overcome the addiction. On the other hand, enforcement of laws and policies can only be implemented with the help of police on the road. They provide the direct interface between the people and the law of the nation, and they are also the sole ones responsible for catching the culprits on the ground and punishing them by following the law. In recent years, crime has advanced as well, such as cybercrime, social media offenses, and mental harassment. To tackle such problems, many various multifaceted programs should be initiated to educate people, not just enforce more police. To conclude, it can be asserted that although police are an integral part of the system, it is important to arrest the culprits. However, increasing the force cannot resolve the root issues of society and mitigate the consequences. Hence, providing appropriate solutions to the major issues of society can help control crime.