Around the world, people are now living longer than ever before in the past. Some say an aging population creates problems for governments. Others believe there are benefits to society having more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of possessing an aging population outweigh the disadvantages?

In many countries, people's life expectancy is higher now than in the past. Many individuals argue that an elderly population has its pros and cons in society and to the government. Although, the elderly are known to be wise and could guide the younger generation through life. However, they are still a burden to the community. In my opinion, an aging population puts a country to a disadvantage. One of the benefits of an older population, is that their advice and their experiences in life can help people younger than them. In other words, their guidance to everything, can assist us in preventing a mistake that they had been through. In addition, society can seek for their suggestions and assistance in majority of things. For instance, I went to get help from my grandmother after having a misunderstanding between my friends, she suggested me to talk to them and say everything that was on my mind to avoid other miscommunication. After doing what she told me too it actually helped me in forming a deeper friendship and connection with my friend. Just by asking for some guidance from an elderly who probably went through the exact same thing in the past, helped me in preventing such mistakes in life again. The main disadvantage, is that if there is a higher percentage of older civilians in a country then there would be a decrease in the economy and its output. To clarify, older folks are unable to perform work after a certain age, they take a retirement so if half of the occupants are elderly, therefore, there would be no one to hire and do the jobs. This especially will affect the primary sector or so-called, labor jobs. For example, in a factory where they produce and assemble products, they will need to hire younger individuals to do these tasks as older people won't have the energy nor the capacity to do it. As a result, the country's output and productivity will be low and thus decrease in its economy. In conclusion, at an international level, folks have been living longer compared to the past and many debates occurred about whether this benefits the government and society or not. Despite the fact that they help out people younger than them throughout life. As a contradiction of sorts, they still decrease the profit of a country.