Today more people put personal and private information online to do everyday activities such as banking, shopping and socializing. Is this a positive or negative development?

A large number have participated in the usage of the internet nowadays due to the significant achievement of internet development, while the leakage of personal information has become more and more severe. Transparent personal information can create a civilized environment and provide safe communication and trade conditions. Social networking benefits us a lot, while there is cyberbullying, online harassment and the spread of information and fake news which not only affect people’s experience online but also influence societal security, yet confirming information about individuals, which is also known as increasing transparency, is supportive in tracing the source of rumour regulating people's online behaviours. In addition, completing identification contributes to a more credible online trade that enables people to make safe communication and transactions, preventing fraudulent behaviours of law-breakers. However, sharing personal details has its drawbacks such as identity theft and privacy infringement. Shopping applications and social networking internet usually integrate with third-party applications and services, requesting the accession of personal information, then those details may be used illegally. First is identity theft, criminals are able to access all the information and pretend as others to commit crimes such as rumour spreading, money launching, and fraud, which terribly damage the safety of society or even damage others’ reputations. Furthermore, by owning phone numbers, citizens often get online harassment by various types of advertisements, which is bothering. Nevertheless, those informational leakages can be dealt by bringing serious legislation to conserve personal privacies, forbidding corporations from accessing and selling personal information. In conclusion, registering personal private information is beneficial for maintaining societal security, while laws have to be updated to protect people’s privacy.