Prevention is better than cure. Out of a country’s health budget, a large proportion should be diverted from treatment to spending on health education and prevention measures. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

These days, an increasing number of viruses and infections has become an unavoidable problem for a society. Hence, it is argued that prophylactic procedures should be concentrated on, rather than curing an existing disease. I strongly agree with this point, as being conscious of your wellbeing prevent the sickness to occur. This is essay will discuss the reasons for my view. To begin with, people who reside in less developed nations with low monthly wages are not able to afford expensive doctors. Moreover, some of them are not aware how to treat themselves in order to cure a disease properly. Hence, if the authorities invest money in education and inform citizens about vital vitamins, exercises, nutritious diet and other activities, this prevent many poor health conditions to emerge. For instance, during the COVID pandemic the lack of knowledge caused the rise in mortality rates, as the government did not provide measures and solutions in time. Furthermore, creating awareness about health from an early age promotes strong mental and physical wellbeing in the future. Hence, if the governemnt contribute to the construction of outdoor spaces for children, such as playgrounds, parks and sports fields, this will lead to stop many diseases from happening. For example, it was proved that physical activities deter diabetes and obesity but also improve cardiovascular health. Additionally, providing free memberships to participate in sports, like football, soccer, basketball and volleyball supports young people's collaboration and team work, which are essential qualities for the emotional wellness. In conclusion, providing budget for prevention rather than remedy, increases chances to stay healthier in the future and builds an awareness about your body.