Nowadays it has become increasingly popular to shop online rather than too shop in-store. Is this a positive or negative development?

Nowadays online shopping is preferred over buying goods at shops. This essay agrees that this is a positive development because it is convenient, cost effective and saves time. Internet provides a platform for convenient shopping to billions of people across the world. That is to say, customers can purchase any item from any part of the planet within a few seconds. Moreover, people can easily choose their desired products from a large variety of items available on different websites. Manufacturing details and prices are given with every item, which makes it easier for the people to buy products according to their taste and affordability. To give an example, Amazon’s website displays hundreds of products, with their details, which are accessible to people all over the world. Online shopping saves customers’ time that can be used on productive activities. People do not have to walk or drive to the shopping malls, instead they can purchase different items from their own homes, and thus save time. In addition to that, online shopping is cost effective in terms of fuel consumption. It is not only beneficial for consumers, but also for the conservation of natural resources. For example, in the UK, at least twenty pounds are spent on fuel to go to the nearest shopping mall. To conclude, online shopping is a better alternative to shopping at stores because it is not only convenient, but also saves time and energy.