It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To What extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviour to children?

It is essential for juveniles to differ between right and wrong from a young age. To help them learn, punishment should be involved. This essay strongly agrees with this statement because by giving punishment, children will learn the consequences of their acts. Adults can punish them by grounding them. Juveniles should learn that there are consequences to every action they do. They can learn this value by punishing them if they do not follow the good values that exist in society. Thus they will be more careful and weigh down their intentions before they act. The punishment teaches them that good behaviour will bring positive effects and otherwise bad ones will cause them to suffer. Thus when they grow up they can be a model citizen. For example, when children play together with toys, if they want to borrow their friend’s, they should ask for it nicely and not snatch it away from them. Therefore they can share and play happily together. This value will bring harmony when they lead their adult lives. Instilling the moral value of every action that has consequences for teenagers can be done by grounding them in their room to reflect on their wrongdoings. This measure enables juveniles to look at what they have done and reflect on it. They should understand the reasons behind what is said to be wrong in their action, and the negative impacts they cause. This is to develop their sense of responsibility thus when they are adults they have good moral values. For instance, in the US, it is a common practice for parents to restrict their children from going out of their bedrooms before they can clearly explain what is wrong with their previous actions. In conclusion, punishment can be seen as a way to teach teenagers about moral values so they can understand that there are always consequences to their actions. A kind of punishment that can be implemented is restricting them from going out before realising their wrongdoings.