At the present time, the population of some countries includes a relatively large number of young adults, compared with the number of older people. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, the number of youth increase significantly exceed the number of elderly. It is argued that the advantage of this situation outweigh the drawback, however, in my point of view, the growing number of youth has advantage in terms of greater economic growth and lesser dependency ratio. The major advantage of this situation is the increasing percentage of economic growth which is usually derived from gross domestic product rate. Demography bonus is a condition in which the productive age population (15-64 years) is more than the non-productive population. Demography bonus can be good chance for every country if they can optimalize it well. When the number of productive age population increase significantly, the labor potential will also increase. All of this workers will participate in economic activities, have a revenue, lead the economic sector with the expenditure that has been spent. As result, the increasing number of younger adults influence the increasing number of growth domestic bruto rate which usually used as reference to economic growth. For example, when unemployment rate in June 2023 reached under 5 percent, the gross domestic product will be increase too The other advantage of this situation is the lesser number of dependency ratio. Dependency ratios indicate the potential effects of changes in population age structures for social and economic development, pointing out broad trends in social support needs. For instance, the Indonesia population reach 300 millions people in June 2023. From that figure, there are 200 millions of people which is categorized as productive age, 60 millions people categorized as yet productive age (0-14 years) and 40 millions people categorized as non productive age (65+ years). With that composition, then the dependency ratio reach 50%. It means that every 50 people aged (0-14 years) and (65+ years) have been supported by 100 youth people. In conclusion, the increasing number of productive age population has merits to economic growth and dependency ratio. Therefore, it is evident that the greater number of youth possess more advantages that outweigh the disadvantages.