Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There are two contrasting perspectives regarding the effectiveness of advertising in product marketing. Some individuals advocate that advertising is a powerful strategy in business marketing, as it successfully wins over buyers. Meanwhile, others assert the opposite due to the ad-fatigue phenomenon. Although prolonged exposure to ads may lead to reduced engagement, advertising remains a productive approach to promoting products. To begin with, advertising is widely used in the business sector as a marketing strategy to promote a product. This is deemed powerful not only for the companies but also for some segments of society, for several reasons. Firstly, people often need valuable information before deciding to make a purchase. Secondly, some companies have unique strategies in advertising their products. Take, for instance, the Apple company uses a different strategy among its competitors. It uses User Generated Content (UGC) to promote the new iPhone 15 on social media, successfully persuading people to queue up during its initial launch months ago. This case supports the idea that advertising is still an effective tool in promotion. Nevertheless, extended exposure to a product's campaign can lead to ad-fatigue phenomenon, where individuals become less responsive to advertisements. To illustrate, common ads that appear on various media channels, either in the digital media such as television, YouTube, or in the non-digital media for instance newspapers or posters, are frequently skipped by people due to repeated display to similar content. Hence, advertisements may no longer be attractive to some individuals. In conclusion, while highly prevalent advertisements impact people’s interest in making purchases, I firmly believe that attractive and exceptional product marketing remains significant in attracting new buyers or retaining loyal consumers.