Many people nowadays spend a large of their free time using a smartphone. What do you think are the reasons for this? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, many people's screen time is really high, which is inherently for young generation. It seems to me that the main reason for that it is the all human being can be put in smartphone. Firstly, phone it is resource to access to information and numerous kinds of entartainment, such as social media, games and obviously, the Internet. This gadget facilitate remote work and flexibility, which gives you plentiful opportunities. Moreover, smartphone can be used, like device for self-improvment or education. For instance, relevant example from my personal experience is I used to do all my homeworks in my devices every day, even rarely can do the same thing now. Nevertheless, I have a lot of online friendships at present, so I use socail medias, as a primary means of communication. On the other hand, smartphone is a huge distractor from real life and things, like face-to-face interactions or physical activities. It leads to decrease in productivity, which consequences might be enormous. Besides, without attention you will be procrastinating all the time. For example, the quarantine in 2020 led society to issues with motivation or wish to continue working and studying. To sum up, I assume that it is more positive development, rather than negative. The possibilities you can take from smartphone outweigh disadvantages of that.