At schools, students should only be taught academic knowledge to pass the exams, and skills such as cookery, dressmaking and woodwork should be learned from family and friends. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The principal focus of schools should be in grooming academically sound students who excel at exams while skills in catering, sewing of dresses and carpentry should be developed from practice from loved ones. I am in complete disagreement with this statement because the purpose of education is being well-grounded in all areas and acquisition of vocational skills at institutions could offer better expertise. The sole aim of every school is to educate students and not to limit them to examination success. If students are taught to only ace tests, they would not be sound in other aspects and might not be ready for the real world where being handy and craftsy can be quite beneficial for them. For example, as a result of frequent food and nutrition practice in Nigerian Secondary Schools, many sons can assist their mothers in the kitchen because they are taught an essential survival skill. Making these practices part of the curriculum can mean being exceptionally good at them. With the organisation of a class setting,necessary textbooks and a qualified instructor in some of these vocations, many of the learners may turn these into their professional trades and generate regular income as opposed to merely observing at home. For instance, because of the introduction of Trade into the Nigerian curriculum, one of my classmates in High School learnt photography and is now a professional photographer- the CEO of Scenema Pictures and is also a Civil Engineer. In conclusion, the inclusion of practical skills could help scholars pursue alternate professional career paths and could also make them more mentally sound and prepare them to take the world.