As the demand for oil and gas continues to rise, there is a growing need to explore these energy sources in remote locations. Do you believe the benefits of exploiting these areas outweigh the drawbacks of causing environmental damage?

It is argued that more remote areas should be exploited for exploring deposit of oil and gas as the demand of these energy sources grow constantly. Although the exploration can be done easily as the locations are not developed yet, I believe that the drawback of destorying natural habitat of wildlife animals outweighes the benefit. On the one hand, most rural areas are undeveloped, therefore it is easier to exploit those locations for energy sources. Many mining companies choose remote locations to dig in not only because there are higher chance for having oil and gas deposit, but also because it does not affect anyone as no people are living there. Most of the time developing these area does not conflict with the existing city development plans, so it is much easier to do large scale excavation there. Furthermore, not much tidy-up jobs are needed after the exploration, further reducing the cost needed for the exploration. However, although people are not affected by the exploitation, there are detrimental effects on the lives of local wildlife animals. Due to the absent of human intervention a wide diversity of species can be observed in those remote areas. But if their natural habitats are disturbed by the introduction of digging machines, the animals will lose their homes and even face extinction. For instance, research has found that African lions lose their place to hunt and live due to the air and water pollution caused by exploitation activities. As a result, they are now listed as endangered species. In conclusion, it is my belief that the benefit of easier exploitation in remote locations does not outweigh the devastating effects on wildlife animals.