Some people believe that nowadays we have too many choices. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Undoubtedly, abundant choices are presented to us nowadays. Some people agree that it can cause waste of time and resources, while other contend that it can be beneficial for the nation’s economic development and personal development as well. From my point, I completely agree with that it can be harmful to individuals. To begin with, too many options usually waste numerous time and energy, because people have to spend more time on selecting and comparing, which means making choices will be more difficult. Online shopping is such an example. If a person wants to buy a white T-shirt online, normally he has to search on several websites and applications, then amounts of information presented to him, with different price, brand, fabric and color, therefore, he may need to go through more details for a longer time rather than go directly into an offline shop and choose one. Additionally, increasing pollution issues will be caused due to too many options, since supply exceeds demand, which means some of them must be abandoned and threw away. For instance, fashion industry plays a vital role in economies as well as brings severe negative impacts on environment, especially the fast fashion. Every year, numerous rivers and water resources are polluted in developing countries due to the chemicals in cloth production, and wildlife suffers without the exception. Hence, more and more people are concerning about fashion sustainability. It is true that given more choices can bring advantages, as it can enrich choice diversity and promote customization for someone who has special requirements such as disabled or the older people. However, the demerits cannot be neglected for the waste has become more severe than before. In conclusion, I strongly believe that the demerits exceed the merits on many aspects as there are too many choices for us.