"Prevention is better than cure." Out of a country's health budget, a large proportion should be diverted from treatment to spending on health education and preventative measures.To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement.

Nowadays, most of the people are falling sick more often, so many people advocate that the government ought to change its focus to health awareness programs. In my opinion, I strongly agree with this notion and my opinion will be discussed in further paragraphs along with a sensible conclusion. First and foremost, preventive health; it covers all actions taken to prevent a disease, to ensure early diagnosis of any health problem and to stop or slow down the progression of the disease. Preventive health is divided into three categories: primary, secondary and tertiary. Vaccinations, for example, protect against many infectious diseases and are primary prevention. Smallpox killed an estimated 300 million people in the 20th century. After the smallpox vaccine was discovered, this number decreased worldwide and today it has been completely eradicated. As in this example, it is possible to prevent some diseases while treatment is not possible., Secondly, to illustrate some other points in support of this statement, it is true that treatment for any disease can lead to side effects. As a result, one has to deal with long-term health problems that can create financial burden and mental stress. For instance, many people struggle with post covid health issues such as hair loss, diabetes, heart problems and other more. Therefore, people should realise the importance of this and pay a little more attention to their health. Also, institutions should consider budgeting for awareness programmes instead of hospitals for treatment. In conclusion, with a few precautions and awareness, we can prevent major health problems. I believe that the above-mentioned points strongly support my view.