Smoking not only harms the smoker, but also people nearby. Therefore, smoking should be banned in public places. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is a documented fact that the repercussions of smoking not only affect the smoker but also the passive smokers around them. In the popular perception, a vast majority of citizens have an ever-growing concern regarding this, and affirm that it is beneficial to ban smoking in public areas. I largely concur with the assertion that it is essential to impose certain restrictions on smokers. Thus, it is worth ascertaining this polemical issue thoroughly. First and foremost, there are certain factors contributing to smoking as part of an individual’s lifestyle. Certain people deem smoking a leisure activity to release their stress, although it may lead to addiction. Nevertheless, this notorious habit causes dire consequences if they engage in it in the long term. It is undeniable that they will be exposed to pernicious chemicals by inhaling it into their lungs. Having smoked cigarettes for an extended period of time, individuals place their life in jeopardy. Oftentimes, heavy smokers are more prone to suffer from insidious diseases, including respiratory infections and lung cancer. Incidentally, releasing smoke from cigarettes causes negative implications, not only to the smoker, but also people at a close distance. Ample research has demonstrated that the numbers of certain individuals who are exposed to cigarette smoke are at a higher health risk compared to the smoker. The findings are alarming to a majority of groups of individuals, significantly to those who belong to vulnerable groups including young children, elderly people and individuals suffering from serious diseases. Worse still, the implications of smoking in public also affect the environment as cigarette waste could release hazardous chemicals to the soil if not disposed properly. Viewed as a whole, the habit of smoking has been proven to aggravate not only individuals, but also the general public and the environment. Thus, the availability of a safe public space for every type of group is required to ensure the safety of all parties. This can benefit the world at large, notably in their health concerns.