In many countries today, people in cities either live alone or in small family units, rather than in large, extended family groups. Is this a positive or negative trend?

Nowadays, many people are more likely to live a life by themselves or with a few members of their family than with a large number of relatives. I think its positive effects outweigh the negative ones and this essay will explain why. First of all, with the rapid development of society and technology, many youngsters are working as specialists in high-tech, financial or scientific fields which means that they need to focus and spend more time and energy to complete their work well. If they live in a big group of family, some of their time may be dominated by communicating or having parties with relatives, so that they could not have enough time to do their job. In addition, those who live alone and live in small family units are freer to enjoy the way of life they want to have which is difficult to achieve when they stay with parents and grandparents who may criticise their lifestyle that regarded as unhealthy. Nevertheless, staying alone have some negative effects, it could be avoided by doing prediction on them. Admittedly, when people struggle with the difficulties faced at work or have some health problem, they find it pretty easy to feel lonely if they have no parents and siblings around them. But, they could move to their parent's home when the time comes and it is not a conflict with their living alone. Moreover, in some special festivals, such as the Chinese New Year and the Mid-Autumn Festival, it will be not so interesting if there are not many family members celebrating together. However, due to Chinese tradition, lots of people choose to go to their parent's home or back to their homeland when important and special days come up and it can avoid regret efficiently. In conclusion, although it has some disadvantages to living alone, the advantages could outweigh that.