In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

It is believed that the population reduction in the countryside caused by city migration is not good for the sustainability of the left hometown. In my opinion, however, this phenomenon poses positive influences because rural people can push better competition in the job markets and when they are successful, they tend to give back to their villages. The first positive development of seeing people from countryside migrating to big cities for fortunes is that they are very likely to increase the competitiveness level in the job markets. Since these people are usually well-known for their high dedication and honesty, their presence will automatically create a better rivalry between workers. As a result, the quality of the jobs delivered will follow as workers are trying to bring the best out of themselves. For example, last year, my city was rewarded with the best job quality award in marketing sectors because there was always a strong competition between workers that come from every corner of my city including those from villages. Another good impact of having more villagers moving to cities is that when they become successful, they tend to sideline a portion of their wealth to build their villages. In many cases, most of these people come to cities with the intention to get rich so that they can give back to their own community in the countryside. For example, in 1990s, Madura was an Indonesian island with one of the lowest welfare rate because most of the people were too concerned with the traditional, locked model of rice farming. In the beginning of 2000s, however, the welfare rate surged as more and more Madurese succeed in big cities with their authentic culinary businesses. They started to build more schools and important facilities, transferring their wealth to touch up their once-poor hometown. In conclusion, while this phenomenon of rural people moving to cities seems to be a negative thing, it is actually positive because their presence can add to job competitiveness leading to better work results and that, in many cases, the success of villages are parallel to the success in the cities.