Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

The high sugar content in food and beverages nowadays is a major concern worldwide, as it contributes to various diseases such as diabetes, obesity, and even acne. In order to address this problem, many people suggest that the government should increase the price of sugar to discourage consumption. From my perspective, I somehow differ from the recommendation mentioned above, so, I will elaborate my reasons more in the essay below. First and foremost, making the price of sugar more expensive can truly drive people to consume less sugar since the price of sugary products will also increase accordingly. For example, diverse desserts and bubble tea which both menus contain high levels of sugar will be hugely affected by such a policy. As a result, the population will consume sugary diets and drink less, resulting in a low risk of disease caused by excess sugar intake as well. Nevertheless, this method is undeniably not completely effective as the majority of cuisines comprise of sugar as a part of the ingredients, resulting in inflation when the price of all goods and services rise. Moreover, the education and awareness of the aftermath of sugar overload, which will lead to numerous health issues, are extremely significant by gradually adjusting the population's eating habits. Another better solution, for instance, is to make healthy food more affordable and approachable. Due to its exorbitance, it is understandable why consumers do not often eat it, though they acknowledge its merits. Hence, either the instructive campaign or the availability of green cuisine will assist in reduction of sugar consumption. To conclude, despite the actual reduction of sugary intake driven by the increased price policy, this method still has some blemishes, including inflation. Therefore, in my opinion, raising awareness and available healthy diets are considered better resolutions.