Nowadays, instead of locally sourced produce, many supermarkets sell a variety of foods imported from countries all across the world. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Buying food in a supermarket is a basic human need. Nowadays, the stuff sold at the supermarket is diverse in terms of the source—not only local products but also imported products. In my own perspective, this condition has more drawbacks than benefits. To begin with, selling imported products at the supermarket decreases a local company's production. This condition will have many detrimental effects on the local company. The first impact is the retirement of the employees. As the company does not manufacture many products, they do not need many employees. It means that the employer may retire their staff because the production number of the company's products falls. Moreover, this decrease may cause a company to collapse. If this happens many negative effects occur, for example, no tax income for the government. Another drawback that may occur is the colonialization of economics by other countries. When the local products cannot compete to imported products, the local goods will not get any consumers. As a result, many international products will be available at the supermarket. This trend implicitly means other countries have colonized us because we are the consumers of their products. To sum up, the existence of imported goods at supermarket brings more negative aspects than the positive one. The drawbacks are decreasing the local company ’s production and economics colonialization by other countries. However, it still has the positive effects as well such as the variety of products, the quality of the stuffs, and reduction of cost’s production.