Many cities are now turning parks and farmland into new housing developments. Is this a positive or negative development?

Cities these days tend to prioritize offering more housing to people and these developments often come at the expense of farmlands and parks. While this trend brings some positives, it is an undesirable turn of events overall. The creation of housing opportunities can help meet the growing needs of the public for housing. In recent years, rural-to-urban migration has increased, with many people choosing cities to live in. With this come housing shortages. When there are enough living quarters in the form of apartment blocks and multi-storey buildings not only can people purchase a house of their choice but it can also reduce the rental prices. Additionally, urban developments often contribute to higher standards of living in an area. This is because the introduction of housing usually accompanies with the creation of a range of public amenities such as schools, hospitals, playgrounds, supermarkets, shopping malls, and entertainment facilities. By contrast, where such developments are not facilitated, people may not have access to most of these opportunities. In my opinion, however, the disappearance of farmland and, especially, parks in favor of creating houses has two-fold implications. For one, it can have a detrimental effect on people ’s mental well-being. The city life has long been associated with the increased levels of stress and anxiety due to the fast-paced nature of life. Having access to green areas usually serves as a counterbalance to this stress and if people are deprived of this opportunity, the life in urban areas may remain even more stressful. Along with this, a range of other problems may arise from urbanization. As the influx of people to cities in search of better life, noise and air pollution, traffic congestions and overcrowding may become common. These changes can negatively affect the quality of life for city-dwellers. In conclusion, the positive effects of expanding living spaces even at the cost of parks and farmlands, include meeting the public demand for housing, coupled with higher living standards. However, I still view this trend negatively because it heightens the stress linked to urban living and brings undesirable consequences for the residents.