People who damage public property, such as buildings or statues should be required to do community service (such as cleaning parks) as a punishment rather than other forms of punishment (such as paying a fine or going to prison). To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The way to punish the individuals who break public facilities is a topic people often discuss. Some communities argue they should serve the community by taking responsibility for their action, instead of paying the fine or even being sent to prison. To me, I believe both punishments have the function of vigilance so I partially agree with the statement and I will elaborate on it in the following paragraphs. On the one hand, making the vandals fix the thing that they had broken is a direct remediation of fixing the public equipment. For example, if they ruin the statues or paintings on the walls, they should restore the subjects to their original condition. This might alert them that they need to face the consequences of their action, unlike paying the fine, they will have to spend time and effort on what they had done. Furthermore, doing community service can strengthen one’s sense of responsibility to his or her community. If society gives folks a second chance to remedy the mistakes they have made, they might feel the warmth and start to think twice before committing any offence in the future. On the other hand, if the destruction is too vital to be fixed such as country buildings, the authority has no choice but to send the vandals to jail or force them to pay a fine. Some nations often damage the buildings in their area, such as schools or public toilets. The study shows that man who destroys the nation's property will do the same things again and again. For this reason, sending them to prison or imposing fines on them would be a better way to let them know how serious their actions were. In conclusion, I can’t completely agree with the statement. While it is undeniable that putting someone accidentally harm the facility might be too harsh on them, however, to some people ignore the notices many times sending them to prison and making them pay the fine is just enough.