It can be difficult for small local shops to compete with large supermarkets and with on-line shops. How does this affect local communities? What could be done to improve this situation?

The situation among small shops, supermarkets and on-line shops is due to improving technology quite interesting. The shopping is one of the most extended businesses in the world; everyone needs it. Gradually, we can observe that more and more shops, including the smallest ones, are able to provide their on-line access to the shopping. It is, among others, thanks to the Internet access. Undoubtedly, it is an interesting possibility for all sellers and customers too. We can observe that the competition among small shops, supermarkets and online shops is becoming very intensive. Surprisingly, the small shops are slightly losing. To compete with a big market chains which provide all important goods, it is very demanding. To be a winner, the sellers should take advantages of being a small provider. It means, they should cover the worse accessible places, like small towns or villages. The other option is to provide some special products which the customers can not find in the supermarkets. The big disadvantage of the supermarkets, unlike the small shops, is the anonymity. People like talking and meeting other known people who will share their experience and greetings.These things make the small shop more pleasant places. It builds the confidence, supports the reliability a trust to providers of the services, and it helps the customers to return back the next time. To conclude, to be an owner of the small shop is definitely not easy today. It is necessary to use all the advantages as much as possible. However, there exists a good chance to be a succesfull seller even with a small shop.