Many countries raise fuel prices to deal successfully with problems of traffic and polluon. What effects do you think this move can have? What other measures do you think can be taken to reduce traffic and pollution ?

In many countries, the governments increase fuel prices in order to deal with traffic congestion and pollution. I believe that this move can have negative effects on society in the long run. In contrast, there are some other solutions can be made to help reducing traffic and environmental problems. The first problem of increasing fuel prices is that it will lead to the higer price of goods. Since transportation is crucial for goods delivery from manufactures to retailers to consumers, the increase in fuel prices will add in the cost on the whole transportation chain. Hence, people must pay more for their essential goods due to higher fuel prices. In addition, the higer high price of goods, the more people will get into financial problems. As a result, people with lower income are not able to afford living cost, including commuting to work and shopping for foods. Therefore, increasing price in fuel is not a long term solution for traffic and pollution problems since it might bring down the quality of life of many people. To support for the improvement on traffic congestion and pollution, there are some other measures can be taken such as encouraging remote jobs and developing public transportations. Government can run the program to support the business to create more remote and hybrid jobs which workers do not need to come to the office or less frequent, resulting in less traffic jams and air polluted. Besides that, government can invest on improving quality and quantity of public transportations. In particular, the areas that are far away from center do not have bus frequently which does not allow people can not travel conveniently. Once this issue is addressed and improved, less people needs to commute by private vehicles. In conclusion, raise in fuel prices is not the potential solution for traffic congestion and pollutions since it leads to the higer cost of living as well as the increase of people with financial problems. Governments should consider other measures which are more sustainable in the long run for their citizens such as increasing remote jobs and improving public transportations.