News plays an important part of most people’s lives. Why is news so important to people? Why is so much news dedicated to bad news? Should the news focus on good news instead?

The news could be considered to be an essential fixture and part of a person's everyday routine. For some, watching the news is just as important to them as having their dinner every day at the same time. For others, the news is the most reliable and accurate source of information, not only in a local sense but also on a global scale. As I previously stated the news can play a significant role in people's lives. Firstly, watching or reading the news helps you stay up to date and relevant with all the current events that maybe taking place in your local environment. In addition to this, the news also reports on any major incidences or trials that could be occurring in other parts of the world. This could be particularly useful for not only gaining a deeper understanding of what is happening across the planet, but also as way of keeping updated with a precarious situation that maybe arising in a country where your family resides. It could be argued that the vast majority of news is geared towards the bad rather than the good. I believe this is the case because, in this way, society and people in general will be more acutely aware of any potential threats or dangers that are taking place around them. For instance, extreme weather warnings of floods or snow could be distressing or alarming to a family, but, this caution has the ability to save someone’s life. Furthermore, most news is usually bad as this is a realistic portrayal of what is happening around the world. Although it could be said that the news should comment on the good rather than the bad, this could perhaps be extremely unrealistic. The news is primarily a source of factual information; so, if it was centered on positive findings then a lot of the scary and true life threatening circumstances would not be documented. This means, that many people would have a sugar coated and untrue version of reality. To conclude, I believe that the news is important to people as it keeps you up to date with current affairs and increases your general knowledge. I am also of the belief that bad news is more focused on, as this is an accurate source of reality.