In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Urbanisation would impact the population density in the city since the rural people move to the city. The increase should be supported by the development of basic infrastructure including settlements, water, public transportation, and health facilities. As a result, urban citizens are provided with their basic needs. In reality, the development of urbanisation is faster than the development of basic infrastructure, especially the developing countries. Consequently, these circumstances have impacted the environment. For instance, Jakarta, the capital city of Indonesia, experiencing bad air quality and scarcity of drinking water due to massive urbanisation. In addition, if the city is not ready to provide a proper livelihood for the urban citizens such as settlements and job opportunities, it causes a high price of land ownership that the citizens cannot afford the proper house in the town. Consequently, some housing developers build the housing in the sub-urban, which causes urban sprawl and a decrease in the green area in the sub-urban. For example, people who work in Jakarta are living in sub-urban areas such as Bekasi, Bogor, Depok, and Tangerang because of the high prices of land ownership in Jakarta province. In conclusion, urbanisation has a negative impact on the environment especially if the City Government cannot provide the basic needs of the urban citizens. Consequently, the government together with stakeholders should plan the city based on a sustainability approach.