Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

The time that kids spend time with their phones is a lot today. I believe this is because the fact the level of technology we have reached. And it is a negative development. This essay will discuss technological development as a reason and why it is a negative development. Over the years, technology becomes a serious part of our lives. When the phones first appeared, it was not a commonly used device among people. Today, people of any age have smartphones and there are lots of platforms that keep your attention. With the technological developments we have done until today, smartphones have lots of applications and platforms designed to capture our attention. Especially for children, attractive themes, games, and fascinating visuals have appeared. That is why not only adults, but also children spend significant time with their phones. The article which has recently been published in the literature indicates that the conversations among children always contain about the things they play or watch on their phones and generally it is fiction-based. Moreover, I believe this is a negative situation because children who spend lots of time with their smartphones can become addicted and extremely introverted person. Communication is a key for self-growth and understanding life. With the lack of face-to-face interaction, children may forget what real life is and they cannot develop self-confidence that they need. For instance, the sister of my friend has been a gamer since she was four. She has spent at least 7 hours a day with her phone and today she is 12 without any real friends and using pills for her shyness before interacting with any people other than her family. In conclusion, do the children spend a lot of time with their phones and is it a negative situation? With technological improvements, children spend a lot of time with their phones because of their attractiveness and it is a negative situation because it is harmful to their self-development.