City dwellers seldom socialize with their neighbors today, and the sense of community has been lost. Why did this happen? And how can this be solved?

Residents living in the cities tend to have fewer connections with their neighbors today, which can lead to a sense of isolation. In my view, it is the diverse bachgrounds of dewellers jewellers and their rising dependent on digital devices that lead to this situation. However, there are severals suggestions that will potentially alleviate this problem. The main reason why neighbors sociallize less is that people become increasingly dependent on digital communication. In the past, when cellphone was still a luxury, people relied on neighbors to address problems in their lives. For example, if an elderly person lost their partner, neighbors and acquaintances would come to their houses, providing assistance in the funeral and emotional support. By contrast, young people today often turn to the Internet when stumbling into difficulty. They may google how to fix the electrical wires instead of asking their neighbors for help, or chat online for support instead of talking to someone living nearby. Furthermore, it is likely that people living in the same building comes from different parts of the world, which adds to the obstacles which impede the understanding and connection between neighbors on a deeper levels. Several measures can be done to address, or at least mitigate this issue. To begin with, it is crucial for the individuals to understand that meeting in-person plays a significant and irreplacable role in one’s social life. Therefore, individuals should engage more in the community activities, which provides more opportunities for face-to-face interactions with neighbor. Take voluntary programs for example, if a person participates a program intended for the disabled people living nearby, there is a great possibility that they will make friends in the process of visiting those in need, listening to their past experiences and making a modest donation. This will potentially help them develop into a long term relationship due to the close distance of their apartment, cultivating a sense of belonging and community. In conclusion, despite all the drawbacks impeding people from connecting in the modern communities, I believe there certainly some ways to overcome the challenge.