A growing number of people work by telecommuting, that is, the employee works from home, using a computer and the Internet to connect with the office. What are the advantages and disadvantages of working this way? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Recently, a lot of employees prefer working online from their homes. However, this policy has been discussed, whether it is going to hamper the workflow or not. In this essay, I will illustrate my point of view and support it with examples as well. On one hand, I believe there are two main positive points of telecommuting. Firstly, it saves time as well as money. For instance, workers do not need to commute and also save money for fares or fuel for transport. Therefore, online work helps to save time and money which will increase the productivity of the employees as they do the tasks more efficiently. Moreover, they spend more hours with their family members which encourages them more energetic. Secondly, the schedule of the job is flexible which helps people to choose the hours which suit them. In this way, they have less stress about fixing task schedule and prefer to do online jobs as they are free from family chores. In addition, it helps parents to give time to their children in the morning or evening depending upon their choice. On the other hand, virtual jobs have cons too as everything has two sides. The prominent one is that there is no personal interaction with other colleagues as well as with the boss so it lacks the social circle and other useful skills like teamwork. Apart from that, it is difficult to get a promotion as we are not the favourite employee in the eyes of the boss as we do not interact with him face to face. Moreover, the other disadvantage is that there may be some noise or distraction in the surroundings of our home. It will impact the productivity of the task as we are unable to concentrate properly. To conclude, it seems to me working offsite saves time and energy for the person and improves performance efficiency. However, there may be some distractions and a lack of social environment while working from home through the internet.