In some countries, many more people are choosing to live alone nowadays than in the past. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

It is true that there is an increasing tendency in people having a single life compared with the past. Personally, I believe that living alone can be both positive and negative. On the one hand, there are some benefits for people living alone, where the primary advantage is the reduction in household expense. It means that it is unnecessary for single person to support the whole family consumption, which usually includes the costs on babycare, children's education and so on. Secondly, living alone is conducive to foster a sense of independense in young people because they are supposed to complete things without help from others. For example, there are usually some household chores, such as doing the laundry and clean the house. Therefore, people choosing to live alone can benefit from the lower life stress as well as personal growth. On the other hand, people living alone will lead to negative impacts on both personal and social perspectives. From the personal aspect, those people are more likely to undergo the psychological illness since they lack of sufficiently daily interaction with people and opportunites to share their feelings with friends. In terms of social aspect, an increase in the percentage of those people probably results in the uncertainty in society. This is because they tend to rent a flat or house, which contributes to the higher frequency of changing their address and difficulties of security regulation. In conclusion, while this development of increasing percentage of living alone has various benefits, I hold the view that there exits a great deal of negative influence as well.