Schools should focus on academic success and passing examinations. Skills such as cookery, dressmaking and woodwork should not be taught at school as it is better to learn these from family and friends. To that extent do you agree or disagree.

Schools are fundamentally instituions institution designed for academic success and examinations, however, other essentials skills, such as, cooking are not given due importance. I believe that, schools should make time for both subjects and give them equal value. Academic achievements and exam success is part of the nature of going to school. When an individual performs well in such tests, it is a form of personal validation and a credit to their own hardwork. Moreover, when applying for competitive fields, such as medicine, it is these results that set candidates apart and determines who is the best for such an occupation. Furthermore, these assesments require dedication, passion and good time keeping skills, all of which are needed in the pursuit of further education and life. On the other hand, knowledge on subjects like, cookery, dressmaking and woodwork, are fundamentals that every pupil should be taught. Usually, it is believed that learning such crafts should be the responsibility of the family or their friends. Whilst, this maybe true, it is better if such concepts were introduced into the curriculum, as students will develop a natural interest in these matters. Learning about cookery and woodwork are basic life skills that every child should be equipped with, and are needed throughout their lives just as much as exams. In addition to this, dressmaking and baking could provide a good break from other more stressful subjects, like maths, and encourage children to look forward to performing such tasks. In conclusion, I disagree with the notion that schools should just focus on results and academics, rather there should be an equal opportunity for both skill sets to be learnt