Most people prefer shopping in supermarkets nowadays. How does this affect the local shops? What are the positive and negative impacts of this development?

Nowadays, a lot of people enjoy going to big shopping centers, instead of small local shops. That has a negative impact on local business, as it offers some advantages to customers - more affordable prices and bigger supply. But it also has its negative side, for example, non-ecological food. First of all, the negative impact is huge and many local business are forced to go bankrupt. Supermarkets take places everywhere around us, without leaving no choice for smaller shops. During the last ten years, a demand has significantly decreased, as some countries fight economy crises, which is even worse for small shops. They cannot offer as low prices, as supermarkets. Additionally, a supply of local shops are much smaller, compared to gigantic markets. Moreover, this trend has its own advantages and disadvantages. There are many good points for customers - supermarkets are built in convenient places and are easily accessible. In addition, it usually offers low prices, discounts and memberships for loyal clients, to keep them stay. For supermarket owners, this trend helps to increase their income rapidly - as when the brand becomes popular, it is easy to maintain customers or expand business even more. The negative side of supermarkets ' development, is that it causes a pressure for local shops. Also, the customers could be dissappointed, as it offers non-ecological, massive production and low-quality items. People are forced to buy chemical fruits and out of date buns because of decrease in local, ecological shops. Furthermore, big shopping centers are usually crowded and can cause a discomfort for buyers. As a contrast, the small shops are often very cozy and have a welcome environment, where even a cashier is your friend. To conclude, a trend of going to supermarkets instead of local places are crucial for small business owners. But it also has its advantages - it is cheaper, more accessible and has a huge variety of products.