Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What other measures do you think might be effective?

The economy mostly depends on gas for everyday products and uses inspite of the negative impacts to the environment. It is argued that if the gas price increases, growing traffic and air pollution will be solved. In my view, I completely disagree on this count, however, will discuss some effective ways that will help control the congested traffic and some environmental problems. Nowadays, many people choose to own a private vehicle than taking public transportation because of the convenience. While, it is consider that private cars are a huge personal financial commitment due to maintenance, parking tickets, and especially gas fuel. Increasing the price of gas would not solve the problem of traffic, nor the environmental issues. Also, as the price rises, the demand will decrease and the cost of living will increase. People might use their vehicle less, although, this is not enough to manage the on-going problem on traffic along with air pollution. Clearly, people tend to hustle and search for more jobs with their vehicles to prevent financial burden. Consequently, more vehicles in the road, will produce more pollution and traffic. However, there are some potential ways to alleviate this situation. One is that government should invest to some companies that would build electric vehicles which produce less pollution and consider an environmentally friendly. In addition, e-vehicles should sell in an affordable price to the residents and encourage them to use often. Also, improved public road guidelines should implement, for instance, restricted public parking especially near busy streets. As a result, a wider road will be provided for public and private transportation. Furthermore, encourage drivers to use alternative routes to prevent heavy traffic especially rush hours. In conclusion, even though that the amount of traffic is continuously increasing which also cause air pollution, I personally disagree that high price of petrol will resolve these problems. However, e-vehicles and better road policies will help control the road traffic and air pollution.