Some people believe that longer prison sentences are the best way to decrease crime while others believe that there are alternatives ways to decrease crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The discussion of adapting long jail time for a crime-free society is surely one that begs the question of how truly effective it is. Some people claim that such a practice should be entertained as it keeps criminal inside the wall and gives them a lesson for life to correct. In my opinion, due to the presence of rehabiltation centres and other social activities, it is plausible to assert that options over jail to eradicate bad ailments of society will be the most apropos choice. One clear fact is that longer jail time forbids the convicted folk to stay outside. Given that negatively motivated people, reprehensible for crime, being forced to stay inside for longer duration, it would aid in curbing the crimes outside. Take for instance Nevada, the only city to allow longer jail time for minor crimes, which is known to be the safest city among others in the world. Overall, if analyzed properly, it is not a far-fetched conclusion to say that such a precaution is the only resort to a crime-free city. Nevertheless, it is often argued that there are other factors which influence safety inside the city. This can be well delineated if we refer to any rehabilitation centres. To illustrate further, these centres have a plethora of propitious exercises which have the potential energy to any negative thought anyone has For example, Performance testing is one of the best examples to delineate this. Therefore, given such an influential outcome on one personality, rehabilitation centre ought to be more in the limelight. Overall, I still opine that big jail time is not completely reprehensible. Another reason stems from the fact that convicts generally get a lesson to learn during their jail time which helps them to differentiate between good and bad. Nonetheless, provided that there are social activities practised in the prison, bad people usually get a way to correct their own mistakes and start a new life. To conclude, both sides present a strong paradox. However, there is no argument for the opinion that a solution like rehabilitation centres and self-learning process could expediently make a person good.