Most high-level positions in companies are filled by men even though the workforce in many developed countries is more than 50 per cent female. Companies should be required to allocate a certain percentage of these positions to women. To what extent do you agree?

It is argued that the majority of senior positions in businesses are held by men even though the employees in some industrialised nations are over 50 per cent women. Companies should put a specific proportion of these positions for females. This essay disagrees with this statement because employers should select the best candidate, no matter what gender they are, and this method of employment may disadvantage men. Companies should never differentiate between the sexes. Businesses are concerned with looking for the best staff they can get. However, if they allocate a certain number of their staff for women only, the company will not be at its best because they will reduce the likelihood of getting better employees. For example, in 2018, Google cancelled an internal programme to hire women only for programming positions after facing criticism from employees and experts that it could deprive the company of top candidates if the focus was on gender rather than skill and experience. Another reason why organisations should not focus only on hiring women is the great injustice men could face. The world is changing. Just like men used to take over jobs, now it's gradually turning to women. If most employers chose women over men just because of their gender, not their job qualifications, this is obviously an oppression towards men. As a result of this phenomenon, there is an increase in unemployment among the youth. For instance, a 2013 Harvard University study and a 2019 OECD report: policies favouring women have increased unemployment among young men, particularly in some European countries, by reducing their opportunities despite their qualifications, and have led to a widening gap in employment rates in favour of women. In conclusion, limiting certain positions to women only may harm organisational performance and unfairly disadvantage male candidates.