Part 3. Essay writing. (10pts) Write an essay of 250 words on the following topic Plastic shopping bags are used widely and cause many environmental problems. Therefore, it is said that they should be banned. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Plastic shopping bags have become a common part of our daily lives. They are used worldwide, bringing convenience to both consumers and merchants. However, their use has led to many environmental problems, and there are many opinions that they should be eliminated. One of the environmental problems caused by plastic bags is their contribution to pollution. These bags are not biodegradable and take hundreds of years to decompose, releasing toxic chemicals into the soil and air. In addition, the production and use of plastic bags contributes to greenhouse gas emissions, climate change and global warming. Another concern is the impact of plastic bags on wildlife. Marine animals often mistake plastic bags for food, leading to ingestion and subsequent death. Plastic bags also get entangled in animals, causing injury or drowning. These consequences have really warned people to take preventive measures, including a ban on plastic shopping bags. However, a complete ban on plastic bags may not be the best solution. Many consumers use plastic bags for their daily needs, such as carrying groceries or other goods. Removing this convenience without providing other alternatives could inconvenience people and negatively impact businesses. Instead of introducing a ban, governments and communities should carry out plastic bag recycling activities to reduce the environmental impact of plastic bags. Besides, promoting the use of reusable bags or paper bags can significantly reduce the demand for plastic bags. In short, plastic shopping bags have definitely caused serious environmental problems. While a ban may not be the most practical solution, it is important to address these issues through effective recycling practices and encouraging the use of reusable bags. That way, we can reduce the environmental damage caused by plastic bags without inconveniencing the public or hurting business operations.