Some students take a gap year after graduating high school to work and/or travel. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this.

Taking a break after finishing high school has become more common among students who want time off before college or work. While there are several advantages to taking a gap year, there are also some drawbacks that need to be considered. On the one hand, a gap year can offer many benefits for young people. First and foremost, one of the primary advantages is the opportunity to gain practical skills and hands-on experience. For examples, these experiences can range from learning new languages, developing leadership skills, to understanding work environments – all of which can be advantageous in future studies or career paths. Furthermore, taking a break helps students figure out what they want to study or do for work. Indeed, after high school, students can try things like internships to see what they like, and that can help them decide what to do next. On the other hand, although taking a year off can offer certain benefits for students, its drawbacks are much greater. The first point is the financial burden when some students cannot afford for the travelling fee. As a result, this make a few people detract for the experience and incur debt in their gap years. In addition, this trend can cause difficulties for you if you want to get back to universities. Indeed, many forms of financial aid, scholarships and so on are just available for the students right after graduation, thus missing out them is a great disadvantage for them. In conclusion, taking a gap year after graduating high school can offer numerous benefits but it also poses challenges.