Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe that there are better alternative ways of reducing crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is clear that crime is one of the pressing issues in society. I believe that harsh punishment is a good way to reduce crime rate while I think alternative ways are better. I admit that serving longer prison sentences is a good way, because this solution acts as a deterrent to would-be criminals and gives them a chance to think twice. Besides, implementing longer prison sentences for criminals would help society combat criminals and create a society without crime. However harsh punishment would push a pile of pressure on overstretched prison. As a result, taxpayers will have to pay more money annually for the operation cost of prison. Besides, with the resentment of some prisoners, they would make plans to escape and can not be rehabilitated. Consequently, this measure would fail to address the root causes of the problem. Observation in current society, poverty and unemployment are one of the driving reasons for criminals. Because of living under those conditions forcing them to take what they did not have to sustain their life and their family. Moreover, the lack of education also the major reason for the increase in crime rate. As they were not taught properly so they have no choice but to be educated on streets rather than at school. Therefore, providing job opportunities and making education more accessible for people would play an important role in decreasing the crime rate. In conclusion, it is undeniable that longer prison sentences are an effective solution to decrease the crime rate. However, there are lots of alternative solutions to improve this pressing issue.