Rich countries often give money to poorer countries, but it does not solve poverty. Therefore, developed countries should give other types of help to the poor countries rather than financial aid. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is undeniable that monetary assistance of the rich countries has not brought benefits to the undeveloped countries in terms of coping with the poverty to some extent. Personally, I concur with the statement that the wealthy governments should take various types of help which could be more effective when supporting the poor nations. On the one hand, there are several compelling reasons why financial aid fails to assist undeveloped countries in improving their citizen’s quality of life. First and foremost, money supports are only perceived as temporary solutions so it is hard for them to address thoroughly difficult issues which the poorer countries are facing. For example, pouring a great deal of money could not help people living in impoverished regions all over the world overcoming starvation in the long term. Another reason is that monetary support could make the poor countries become over reliant on the developed ones. As a result, these countries could not create new and effective strategies which could enhance their socio economic status in the future. On the other hand, there are more beneficial methods to aid poor countries rather than financial assistance. Firstly, experts from various fields, such as the economy, education and environment of the rich countries could be sent to the deprived areas in order to provide deep training courses for residents there. This could lead to the improvement of agricultural techniques or the development of the educational system, all of which could have a great contribution to higher living standards of citizens. Another effective method is that the developed countries could give support by signing the commercial contracts with the undeveloped countries in different sectors. This would make sure that the impoverished regions could have more opportunities to develop and compete in the international market, creating more jobs with decent and stable income for all citizens, thus reducing the poverty rate in these areas in the long run. In conclusion, all things considered, I strongly believe that to help poor countries overcome poverty in the long term, the rich countries could apply various measures like technical assistance or creating opportunities for economic development instead of only assisting financial support.