Some people think reading stories in books is better than watching TV or playing computer games. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Literature was present in the era before Christ. In those days, only wealthy people were able to read books, as they were the only ones able to afford them. In modern days, though many people are literate, individuals prefer to watch movies or play video games rather than read a book. In my opinion, books are as necessary as watching TV or playing games. Firstly, books play an integral role in improving our intelligence, as it helps an individual's mind to wander freely, also making them creative. According to a study done by Terman, intelligence influences creativity, as an individual who is intelligent tends to be able to learn new things hence making them creative and vice versa. Secondly, books are our friends, and it also helps us in making new friends; For example: If people have a common interest in reading certain types of books, it helps them bond over it. In contrast, playing video games improves our problem-solving abilities and our motor skills. For instance, a survey conducted by the American children association, video games have help children to think faster and effectively solve problems, it has also helped in improving hand to eye coordination. In conclusion, books provide us with knowledge as well as creativity but what books lack, watching television and playing games helps cover it. Therefore, I believe books are as important as watching television and playing games.