Q.Government investment in the arts, such as music and theatre, is a waste of money. Governments must invest this money in public services instead. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

It is claim by some people that it is essential to spend public money to protect arts, while a segment of people believe that it is just an extra expense and government ought to expend national budget to improve public service. I partially agree with these statements of consuming funds on arts and spending money to develop public places. In this essay, I will provide some arguments to support my opinion. There appear to be a number of reasons why some people argue that national budget ought not be spent on arts. First of all, there are numerous serious problems in our society that must be solved by the government, namely establishing new infrastructure for the education system or providing the national health system with modern devices. As a result, the people of any country who struggle for getting fundamental needs can get them easily. Secondly, nowadays, environmental pollution is a problem which is becoming serious. That is why government must focus on the environment to reduce this serious problem and keep our environment safe from destruction. On the other hand, there are a number of reasons why many people believe that government has to expend money on arts and culture. One of the reasons may be that it is always fantastic to spend money to protect cultural heritage because it is related to our tradition. Through these monuments, we preserve our culture as it speaks about our history and it will help the next generation to understand the traditions and values. Another reason can be that, if national money is spent to progress music and theater, it has a high chance of making renowned artists who will work to demonstrate our culture worldwide. For example, Justine Baiever, a famous Canadian singer and songwriter, is an artist whose works attracted a massive global audience, which not only accumulated a wide spectacular but also attracted people to the culture of Canada. In conclusion, it must be said that these two groups have countless arguments to support their opinions; however, I partially agree with both views.