Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Through decades people have tried to solve their health problems both with traditional methods like going to a doctor or with alternative medicine. Today, the number of people who trust alternative medicine is increasing. In my opinion, although this situation may be considered a positive development, there are also negative aspects that outweigh the positive sides. This essay will discuss both sides. On the positive side, trying alternative medicine may lead to new insight into medicine and different perspectives, in addition to the treatment they offer. Today, there are lots of people who recover themselves without going under the knives of doctors. Taking scoliosis as an example, years ago the only method for treating this disorder was surgery which the doctors cut the spine. Later a person, Ms Melinda, who didn’t want to proceed with the surgery tried different methods such as making a corset from hard material and wearing it all day to straighten the angles of her spine. Years later, she and her doctor can easily see the progress. With that way, she is not only treated herself, but also contributes to the medicine. However, on the negative side, people can harm themselves in a more bad way because of the unreliability of the alternative medicine sector. A significant proportion of alternative medicine treaters are speculators, consisting of unprofessionals who want to gain a lot of money and they don’t know what they do. There is an article published 3 years ago regarding herbal obesity pills that offer a natural way to lose weight. Nearly, 2 million people all around the World died in that year because of those pills. Later, even though they restricted them, many innocent people died because of the lack of information about the ingredients and their effects. In conclusion, throughout the years, the number of people trying alternative medicine is increasing more and more every day instead of seeing doctors. Despite the fact that alternative medicine may help in treating some health problems, it should be administered in a conscious and controlled by professionals in order to prevent more damage.