Plastic bags, plastic bottles and plastic packaging are bad for the environment. What damages does plastic do to the environment? what can be done by the government and individuals to solve this problem?

Degradation of the environment due to plastic substances, a rampant issue, has been increasing in recent times. Although the excessive usage of these has resulted in infertile lands, water and air pollution along with the threat to animal life, the sustainable remedy to alleviate this is to limit its use by enforcing strict laws, warning people about the harms of plastic use to the environment and encouraging them to reuse and recycle the plastic products. Overuse of plastic is leading to infertile lands, water and air pollution and, kill animals. These non-biodegradable products remain for long in the layers of the soil which impacts the fertility of the land. For example, the landfill sites where garbage has been dumped for years can never be used to grow crops. Furthermore, when these components are prepared in the factories, they release toxic fuses in the air which deteriorates the air quality. When the waste from these factories is discharged into the water bodies, not only does it pollute the water but also affects marine life. In addition, according to the reserachers plastic -made substance like polythene consumed by animals is leading to the death of thousands of animals every year. Hence, its enormous use is affecting the environment as well as impacting marine and wildlife. Promoting reuse and recycling along with limting the production of bottles and packing can serve as a solution to this damage. Governments should start campaigns to explain public about the aftermaths of plastic use and encourage them to contribute to the reuse and recycling of plastic. Moreover, authorities should impose some strict rules to limit the use of plastic. For example, India banned t polythene bags and brought its alternatives by introducing reusable cloth and newspaper bags. Hence, taking praiseworthy initiatives can be seen as a sign of saving the natural world in the long run. In conclusion, the collaborative efforts of the people and government together can help to phase out the damage which these products are doing. Unless precautionary measures are taken, this rampant substance will keep depleting nature.