The use of social media, e.g. Facebook and Twitter, is replacing face-to-face contact for many people in everyday life. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

These days, face-to-face communication are replace by online communication with using social media such as Facebook, and Twitter. In my opinion, this situation is more disadvantages to people’s daily lives because of the following reasons. In terms of the advantages, social networking may be beneficial for people to maintain contact and assist in business work. One advantage of social media is that it can connect people with each other. For example, overseas students can stay in touch with their relatives and friends through the video call features of Facebook or various other apps. Another benefit of social networking platforms is that it can become a supporting tool in business. Companies can update their customers about new products or promotions by posting these campaign on social media, this allows clients capture information quickly and reach a large of people. It also helps businesses save time and money. However, in addition to these advantages, social media has potential drawbacks to people’s mental and physical health. One downside of using social media is that it can replace direct contact, this leads to isolation and depression. Furthermore, social network addicts can have a negative impact on their studies, work performance, and personal relationships. Another disadvantage is that it can contains harmful content, for instance incorrect informations, violence and abuse. So the use of social networks for communication must be more carefully. In conclusion, it is apparent that social media offers more disadvantages thana advantages. Therefore, care should be taken when using it for communication.