Some people think that certain old buildings are more worth preserving than other ones. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There are a subgroup of people that believe that some architectural constructions have more worth and that there would be merit in their preservation, compared to other structures that are equally as worn out. In this essay I will discuss why this is an appropriate notion and reach a conclusion. Firstly, there are many building developments that have become outdated but still possess a great deal of economic worth. For instance, Buckingham Palace is a world renowned structure that has been present in the UK for centuries, it has succeed in becoming a tourist attraction that gathers visitors from across the globe. This means that, the preservation of such a site is not only beneficial in terms of tourism but also boosts the economy of the country greatly. Secondly, there are various built designs that are old in age but are enriched with culture and history. For example, Sandal castle was built during the War of the Roses and the presence of such a relic ensures that history lives on. Moreover, the preservation of such sites ensures that a societies culture, history and values are learnt by future generations. On the other hand, although there are many buildings that are not fit for purpose in todays' modern world, they still have a role to play in our society. To elaborate further, for the elder generation there may be various older designed structures that they may emotionally resonate with. Additionally, these sites may be of significant emotional value and a chance for them to interact with other members of their community, as the aged are notoriously lonely. In conclusion, it is advisable that historic buildings should be preserved as they have a direct part to play in the tourism and economy of a country.