Some believe that we should invent a new language for international communication. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Some people are of the belief that we should generate a new form of linguistic speaking in order to communicate on a global scale in a more effective manner. In this essay I will discuss why there are more cons than pros to such a suggestion and form a conclusion. Firstly, the invention of a new language would create an even playing field between all the nations of the world. Often, languages that are spoken and used in the majority of nations, such as English are described as being virtually impossible to learn if it is not your native tongue. Furthermore, many people who speak broken English or inadequate forms of this language, may feel as if they are less superior than those who are fluent. Additionally, there may be some unconscious bias between those who are fluent and those who are not. Therefore, the creation of a new universal verbal dialect would unite people of all backgrounds together and eliminate any prejudices or inferiority complexes that are unconsciously held. Secondly, there are a variety of issues that not only damage local populations but also societies as a whole. For instance, the challenge of climate change and rising carbon dioxide levels is an intricate matter and every nation has their own role to play. If there was a universal spoken word organized within each society, then many would feel more included and inclined to tackle this problem. On the other hand, the idea of fabricating a new dialect indirectly equates to the loss of culture and history of a land. This means that, there are certain linguistic styles that are a direct representative of that countries culture, people and history. If these were to be replaced by a new form of speaking then much of that countries own idioms would be lost. This has been shown in many places already, such as Pakistan where the younger generation are beginning to use Urdu more than English which, will eventually lead to the loss of a culture and people. In addition to this, actively producing and learning a new language requires self-dedication, time and perseverance. It is unrealistic for such an idea to become an international success as many will not have the time, dedication or willingness to do so. In conclusion, there seems to be more disadvantages than advantages for the invention of a new language. These include, the loss of history and uniqueness of a land and its people as well as, the dedication and time needed to learn something new.